Parent Tip of the Week: Five Love Languages

Published on May 11, 2020

Español / Soomaali

Everyone craves different kinds of attention and affection. This preference for how you receive love is known as your love language. Gary Chapman describes these “Five Love Languages” on his website and in his books.

The five love languages are:

  • Gifts: receiving physical items such as toys, books, etc.
  • Physical touch: hugs, rough play, head scratches, etc.
  • Acts of service: doing something helpful
  • Words of affirmation: saying kind things or compliments
  • Quality time: spending time together with an enjoyable activity

For example, you may spend a lot of time playing cars with your child (quality time), but they might prefer more back rubs and hugs (physical touch). Or think about your partner/spouse: Would they feel loved by a sweet post-it note saying "I love you" (words of affirmation), rather than help with the yard work (acts of service)?

Observe your child think about what means the most to them and how they feel truly loved. 

We're Here For You

Remember, the ELS team is here to support you and want to hear from you! Please reach out to any of the following staff:

Emily Conigliaro, parent educator 952-681-6228
Eve Clarke, parent educator 952-681-6973
Sarah Sundberg Perry, parent educator para español, 952-681-6256
Debra Goebel, ECFE coordinator and parent educator 952-681-6257
Melissa Nesbitt, school psychologist 952-806-8940
Livia VanHorne, school social worker 952-806-8939