Activities

Flora Tukayama
Advisor

Fee: $0

Dan Fretland
Advisor
dfretland@isd271.org

Jeff Levine
Advisor
jlevine@isd271.org

Fees
$55 for Jazz Band
$67 for Marching Band

Band Site

Dan Fretland
Advisor
dfretland@isd271.org

Jeff Levine
Advisor
jlevine@isd271.org

Fee: $0

Tom Ringdal
Advisor
tringdal@isd271.org

BEC-TV Site

Steve Mayhew
Advisor
bloomingtonriders@gmail.com

Fees: Any fees will be set and collected by the advisor. Contact the advisor with any and all questions as this is group is not run by or through the high school.

Bloomington Riders Site

Sara Ullmam
Head Coach
bowleronfire@gmail.com

Fee: $100  
All fees will be set and collected by the advisor. Contact the advisor with all questions as this is group is not run by or through the high school.

Jane Dorn
Advisor
jdorn@isd271.org

Book Club Site

Scott Sieling
Advisor
ssieling@isd271.org

Grades 10-12

Goals of the Community Service Letter Program

  • Students will learn about themselves and their community through active service to others.
  • Students will be able to apply their knowledge to help solve real community problems.
  • Students will understand the Bloomington Public Schools’ Core Values.
  • Students will learn problem-solving skills.

Student Requirements

  • Must be in (or going into) 10-12th grade at Jefferson or Kennedy
  • 120 Hours of community service (example: from third trimester 2016 through second trimester 2017)
  • Two recommendations
  • No chemical or code of conduct violations

Dates and Deadlines

By the third Friday of March (annually), turn in a completed application form, along with all necessary paperwork.

Contact

Chad Nyberg
Activities Director
cnyberg@isd271.org
 

Eric Roesler
Advisor
eroesler@isd271.org

DECA Site

Nick Hupton
Advisor
nhupton@isd271.org

Fee:  $0

Eric Roesler
Advisor
eroesler@isd271.org

Amanda Matson
Advisor
admatson@stkate.edu

Fee:  $67

Flag Corp Site

Laura Zukanoff
Advisor
lzukanoff@isd271.org
 

Christy Everett
Advisor
ceverett@isd271.org

Fee:  $0

David Johnson
Advisor
dwjohnso@isd271.org

Brandon Peterson
Advisor
bpeterson@isd271.org

Speed is the most highly sought after ability in all of sports, and the mission of Jag Power Training is to create a culture of speed at Jefferson.

Jag Power is led by NSCA certified strength and conditioning specialists and is focused on enhancing speed. Each session includes speed drills, timed sprints, and weight training.

About Jag Power

Liam Rafferty
Advisor
liam.rafferty@normandale.edu

Fee: $50

Math Team Site

Erin Lauer
Advisor
elauer@isd271.org

David Johnson
Advisor
dwjohnso@isd271.org

Cassie Pagel
Advisor
cpagel@isd271.org

Jefferson National Honor Society Site

Don Verdegan
Advisor
dverdegan@isd271.org

Fee:  $190

Robotics Site

Ted Salzman 
Advisor
ted@sailmpls.org

Robert Netzer
Advisor
youth@LHYCSailing.com

  • No experience necessary
  • Boats provided
  • Co-ed
  • Fall and spring
  • Learn to sail and race on metro lakes
  • Practice on Bde Maka Ska (formerly Lake Calhoun)

Sailing Team Site

Cory Carufel
Advisor
ccarufel@isd271.org

Fee: $50

Scott Stenbeck
Advisor
sstenbeck@isd271.org

Fee: $0

Kate Brooke-Beyer
Advisor
kbbeyer@isd271.org

Fee: $0

Spanish Club Site

David Mousel
Advisor
dmousel@isd271.org

Fee: $0

John Lehmkuhl
Advisor
johnlehmkuhl@icloud.com

Any fees will be set and collected by the advisor. Contact John Lehmkuhl with any and all questions as this is group is not run by or through the high school.