Bloomington School Board members begin new terms

Published on Jan 12, 2021
School Board Members

Front L-R: Nelly Korman, Beth Beebe, Dawn Steigauf
Back L-R: Tom Bennett, Mia Olson, Heather Starks, Jim Sorum

Chair Nelly Korman was chosen to continue leading the seven-member School Board by her peers this week. Korman is in her third term of office, beginning her 10th year on the Board. She previously served as treasurer, clerk and vice chair.

Dawn Steigauf was chosen vice chair. Now in her second term of office, Steigauf begins the eighth year serving on the Board. She previously served as a chair, vice chair and clerk. 

Heather Starks is the new clerk. She is in her first four-year term, having been elected in November 2019. Beth Beebe, who began her first term in 2018, will continue as treasurer. 

School board members also confirmed appointments to a number of state and regional committees:

  • Beebe as Minnesota School Boards Association (MSBA) legislative liaison
  • Korman to the Association of Metropolitan School Districts (AMSD)
  • Tom Bennett to the Intermediate District 917 Board
  • Jim Sorum to the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL)

The school board did not increase its $600 per month compensation rate, which has remained the same since 2005. This year, for the first time, the monthly rate of pay for the board chair will be an additional $100/month.

School board meetings are held at 7 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays of each month. The third Monday of each month is held for a meeting, a study session or both if needed. All regular meetings are broadcast on BEC-TV Channel 15. For more information, visit