Search form

Search all BPS schools

Click here on any page for easy access to the

You are here

Student School Board Representatives

In 2016, the Board Student Advisory Council Committee (BSACC)—Ric Oliva (Chair), Tom Bennett, Dick Bergsrom—developed a plan to include student representatives on the School Board. The plan was presented and approved by the full School Board on
August 22, 2016. Student representatives have been a part of the School Board since the inaugural meeting October 24, 2016.
Allie Andersen (Jefferson) and Ethan Skophammer (Kennedy) were the first student school board representatives.  In 2017-2018,
Ethan Skophammer (Kennedy) continued and Jackson Domagala (Jefferson) served his first year.

Pictured below with the School Board, Superintendent and District Legal Counsel are the 2018-2019 student representatives to the School Board--Jackson Domagala (Jefferson) and Ally Starks (Kennedy).

First row L-R: Dawn Steigauf, Jackson Domagala, Ally Starks, Nelly Korman; Back row L-R: Superintendent Les Fujitake, Jim Sorum, Maureen Bartolotta, Tom Bennett, Beth Beebe, District Legal Counsel David Holman, Dick Bergstrom

Student representatives attend meetings that are held on the fourth Monday of each month. They give reports about school activities and participate in discussion of board agenda items. They are non-voting members of the School Board. 
As student representatives to the School Board, one of their responsibilities is to co-lead meetings of the high school representatives of the Board Student Advisory Council.
Along with mentoring from their respective high school principals, each student representative has a School Board BSACC member as a mentor—Nelly Korman for Jackson Domagala and Tom Bennett for Ally Starks (Beth Beebe also is a BSACC member).
Welcome 2018-2019 School Board student representatives!

Link to Peachjar Newsletter