Search form

Search all BPS schools

Click here on any page for easy access to the

You are here

Bloomington School Board members begin new terms

Four Bloomington School Board members took the oath of office for a new four-year term during the board’s annual organizational meeting this week. They include returning members Tom Bennett, Jim Sorum and Dawn Steigauf, and newcomer Beth Beebe.

Front, L-R: Jim Sorum, Dick Bergstrom, Tom Bennett
Back, L-R: Maureen Bartolotta, Dawn Steigauf, Nelly Korman, Beth Beebe

Beebe was elected in November to a seat on the seven-member board left by Ric Oliva, who did not seek reelection. Beebe, Bennett, Sorum and Steigauf were the top vote-getters in a field of 11 candidates.

Steigauf was chosen to chair the School Board this year. Other officers are Nelly Korman, vice chair; Maureen Bartolotta, clerk; and Dick Bergstrom, treasurer.

School board members also confirmed appointments to a number of state and regional committees:

  • Bartolotta to the Minnesota School Boards Association (MSBA) Delegate Assembly, Bloomington United for Youth and Education Foundation of Bloomington
  • Korman to the Association of Metropolitan School Districts (AMSD), AMSD Legislative Committee, MSBA legislative liaison and Delegate Assembly
  • Bergstrom to the Intermediate District 917 Board and MSBA Delegate Assembly
  • Sorum to Technology and Information Educational Services (TIES)
The school board did not increase its $600 per month compensation rate, which has remained the same since 2005.

School board meetings are held at 7 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays of each month. The third Monday of each month is held for a meeting, a study session or both if needed. All regular meetings are broadcast on BEC-TV Channel 15. For more information, visit
Link to Peachjar Newsletter