Activities

Activities Before & After School

A club for students to use design thinking to create, design and code animations, video games, websites, apps and more.

Contact:
Emma Honerbrink (ehonerbrink@isd271.org), Charlie Beck (cbeck@isd271.org)

A club dedicated to playing the classic role-playing game, Dungeons & Dragons.

Contact:
Alex Wobbema (awobbema@isd271.org)

Students produce and perform a one act play each fall.

Contact:
Lee Gillis (lgillis@isd271.org), Stephanie Schifsky (sschifsky@isd271.org)

A leadership group for girls who want to make a difference in their community while learning to code and create an app. 

Contact:
Ashly Tritch (atritch@isd271.org)

A club where students can meet, support each other and work to end homophobia and transphobia within their school and community.

Contact:
Annie Hilgenberg (ahilgenberg@isd271.org), Stacey Pedersen (spedersen@isd271.org)

A club where students gain access to a number of cutting edge technology tools in order to think, explore, figure out and create.

Contact:
Emma Honerbrink (ehonerbrink@isd271.org), Charlie Beck (cbeck@isd271.org)

A team where students build math skills by competing against different schools.

Contact:
Kathy Janicki (kjanicki@isd271.org)

A team competition in which students compete in different scientific events, including earth science, biology, chemistry, physics and engineering. 

Contact:
Kathy Banisky (kbanisky@isd271.org), Anna Butler (abutler@isd271.org)

Olson's skiing and snowboarding club. Students have a blast on the slopes Tuesdays during the winter season.

Contacts:
Lindsay Moen (lmoen@isd271.org)
Karolyn Shelstad-Otto (kshelstad@isd271.org)
Stacey Pedersen (spederse@isd271.org)

A team for students to build speaking skills by preparing and practicing for speech tournaments competing against different schools.

Contact:
Lee Gillis (lgillis@isd271.org), Brandon Becker (bbecker3@isd271.org)

Students read, act, sing and practice for performance of the Spring Musical.

Contact:
Lee Gillis (lgillis@isd271.org), Shelley Ohnsorg (sohnsorg@isd271.org)

A club in which students learn how the stock market works, how to analyze and trade stocks and compete with others.

Contact:
Beth Lundberg (blundberg@isd271.org)

Activities During School

A team of students who create, produce, and host a weekly live show that includes news, interviews, features and more.

Contact:
Charlie Beck (cbeck@isd271.org)

A book of the month club for students to read and discuss different books. At the end of each month, we watch a movie version of the book and discuss some more!

Contact:
Charlie Beck (cbeck@isd271.org), Lee Gillis (lgillis@isd271.org), Stephanie Schifsky (sschifsky@isd271.org)