Bloomington Public Schools - District #271

Search form

Search district pages only

Click here on any page for easy access to the
DISTRICT PAGES.

You are here

BEACON Alternative Learning Program

BEACON is an education alternative that provides a variety of ways for students to earn credits toward a high school diploma. The program is designed to increase student learning by offering a smaller classroom setting and a wide variety of academic support. 
BEACON values high academic standards within each curricula area, which meet both Bloomington and Minnesota State Standards.

Program Options

School within a School program at Kennedy High School      

  • Full-time/shared program open to grades 11 and 12.

  • *Optional shared 10th grade program (2 hours at BEACON/4 hours at Kennedy)* Student would need to enroll through the Kennedy High School counseling office: 952-681-5027.

  • See BEACON side index for daily schedules and class offerings.

Hybrid Program at Jefferson High School

  • Open to students grades 11 and 12 for credit recovery during the school day. Class offerings are limited. 

  • Student must enroll through their Jefferson counselor.

  • See BEACON side index for daily schedules and class offerings.

After School Credit Recovery

  • Students to attend credit make-up classes following a full day at Kennedy or Jefferson high school.

  • Open to 16-year-old Bloomington students

  • Offered trimester 2 and 3 after school (2 days per week)

  • See BEACON side index for daily schedules and class offerings.

Summer School

  • See BEACON side index for calendar/daily schedules and class offerings.

Contact Information

Attendance Line: 952-681-5056

BEACON Staff 

Michelle Christenson
Program Coordinator
mchriste@isd271.org
952-681-5058

Char Jax
Program Secretary
952-681-5056
cjax@isd271.org

Brittany Pensis
Counselor/Homebound Coordinator
952-681-5263
bpensis@isd271.org

Jeff Dunlap
Social Studies/Science/Work Experience
952-681-5292
jdunlap@isd271.org

Mike Barnes
Social Studies (Period 1)
952-681-5056
mbarnes@isd271.org

Jeff Kosel
Science/Social Studies/Jefferson Hybrid
952-681-6359
jkosel@isd271.org

David Harry
Mathematics
952-681-5185
dharry@isd271.org
 
Kate Plager
English
952-681-5264
kplager@isd271.org

Contact Char Jax for more information about after-school/summer school teachers. 

Translate