Jefferson Boys Cross Country wins first section championship since 1984

Published on Oct 30, 2023
Nine boys cross country athletes holding section championship plaque

The Jefferson Boys Cross Country team won its first Section 3AAA championship in 39 years on Thursday, Oct. 26 at Valleywood Golf Course in Apple Valley. The Jefferson boys’ cross country team last won the section championship in 1984.

The team’s victory was buoyed by Jefferson runners finishing in the first three positions, with junior Miles Bassett pacing all runners to claim the section champion title. Sophomore Alexander Altstatt and junior Zack Tapajna finished second and third respectively. Patrick Altstatt placed fifth, followed by Ian Klein (15th place), Forrest Noeske (20th) and Logan Young (29th). All seven boys qualified for the state meet and will compete for the team and individual championships.

Three girls cross country athletes biting medals

The Jefferson Girls Cross Country team placed third in the Section 3AAA meet. Sophomore Avery Rich placed seventh, senior Maren Myers (9th) ninth and junior Megan Schrooten (11th). They qualified for the individual championships at the state meet.

The boys and girls state meet will take place Saturday, Nov. 4 at the University of Minnesota Les Bolstad Golf Course.